Medicines Australia (MA) has today (March 6, 2017) announced the appointment of 10 members to its new advisory council.

Dr Anna Lavelle will act as MA Chair, and will be joined by ex-Chief Scientist of Australia, Professor Ian Chubb AC, Dr Jeff Harmer who has held many senior roles in various Commonwealth departments, and a cross-section of individuals representing industry and government.

Catherine McGovern, who has worked as a Ministerial Advisor to the Federal Government, and more recently as the GM of Government and Public Affairs at Medibank Private, will join the council as an independent member. Social researcher, Mark McCrindle, along with former CEO of the Consumer Health Forum, Carol Bennet will also join the group.

Other appointees include MD of Commercial Eyes, Andrew Carter, MSD Director of Commercial Operations, Nicola Richards, Eli Lilly Global Public Policy Director, David Grainger, and GSK Director of Healthcare Environment, David Herd.

The organisation received more than 72 applications to join the council after calling for applicants in late January 2017.